Making $4,000/mo Freelance Writing — An Honest Look At The Numbers

The anatomy of my writing income & schedule.

Tom Blake
9 min readApr 29, 2021

In February of 2020, I quit my office job at a digital marketing agency and booked a one-way flight to Medellin, Colombia.

The gist of the idea was simple: I was tired of working in ecommerce, and I wanted to see if I could take freelance writing and blogging full-time while living somewhere cheap (and beautiful).

Comuna 13 in Medellin.

At the time, my blog was covering my cost of living at around $1,500 per month in income.

I also had one main freelance writing gig with a large personal finance site, as well as a shaky, occasional ghostwriting gig.

Over the course of the next year, I hopped back into ecommerce, lived in a few different cities/countries, and slowly chipped away at growing freelance writing into my main income source.

Currently, freelance writing brings in approximately $4,000 USD per month and is my largest income source.

So today, I want to break down the anatomy of a $4,000 per month writing schedule, some lessons I learned along the way, and what I think beginner writers can do to increase their income if they are new to making money online.

--

--

Tom Blake

Blogger at www.thisonlineworld.com. I cover how to make money online, writing, & personal finance. Subscribe on YouTube: https://bit.ly/2wBJAbF